Higgs-Maxwell Particle Physics Workshop: Future Accelerators and Future Physics

08 February, 2006 10:30 AM - 05:00 PM

e-Science Institute, 15 South College Street, , Edinburgh


Prof David Saxon, Prof Richard Ball, Prof Nigel Glover, Prof Peter Ratoff


Any slides or other material generated as a result of this event can be found at: www.nesc.ac.uk/action/esi/contribution.cfm?Title=590

A one-day workshop to review prospects for future developments in particle physics covering theoretical, experimental and technical aspects

Provisional Programme

10:30 Registration and Coffee
11:00 Session 1 Chair: Professor Richard Ball, University Of Edinburgh
  Heavy Flavour Physics - Present and Future
Dr G Wilkinson, University of Oxford
11:45 Precision and Sensitivity: The Neutrino Factory
Professor Ken Long, Imperial College London
12:35 T2K: Neutrinos From Tokai To Kamioka
Dr L Kormos, University of Lancaster
12:55 Lunch
13:40 Session 2 Chair: Prof David Saxon, University Of Glasgow
  The International Linear Collider: A UK Perspective
Professor G Blair, John Adams Institute at Royal Holloway
14:20 Challenging Technology: Detectors Beyond the LHC
Dr C Buttar, University of Glasgow
14:35 Forward Proton Tagging at the LHC as a Means to Search for New Physics
Prof V A Khoze, IPPP, Durham
14:50 SUSY at the LHC
Dr T Plehn, University of Edinburgh
15:10 Tea
  Session 3 Chair: Prof Nigel Glover, IPPP, Durham
15:30 Interplay Between the LHC and the ILC
Dr G Weiglein, Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology, Durham
16:40 End


For participants from outwith the Particle Physics groups at the Universities of Durham, Edinburgh, Glasgow or Lancaster, there is registration fee of £25 pounds sterling, payable in advance, which covers the costs of refreshments and lunch.

Methods of payment:


  1. A pounds sterling cheque made payable to The University of Durham drawn on a U.K. bank, or an international bank draft drawn on a U.K. Bank. Cheques should be sent to Linda Wilkinson at the address below.

  2. By credit card. Please complete the credit card form which can be printed out, and e-mail, fax or mail to-

    Linda Wilkinson

    Postal address:
    University of Durham,
    Department of Physics, Rochester Building,
    Science Site, South Road

    Telephone: +44 (0)191 3343811

    e-mail: l.a.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk

    Fax: +44 (0) 191 3343658

Registration for this event is now closed. To enquire about an application or to cancel a previous application please contact NeSC Administration.


Enquiries should be made directly to our Conference Administrator.


This is an archived website, preserved and hosted by the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Edinburgh. The School of Physics and Astronomy takes no responsibility for the content, accuracy or freshness of this website. Please email webmaster [at] ph [dot] ed [dot] ac [dot] uk for enquiries about this archive.