e-Science logo Nesc logo
About NeSC
e-Science Institute
e-Science Hub
e-Science Events
Presentations & Lectures
Technical Papers
Global Grid Links
UK e-Science Centres
UK e-Science Teams
Career Opportunities
Bibliographic Database


Professor Malcolm Atkinson with his Award

Professor Malcolm Atkinson Director of the National e-Science Centre, (Professor, Department of Computing Science, University of Glasgow and Division of Informatics, University of Edinburgh) was named Innovator of the Year 2002 at the prestigious Saint Andrews Day Glenfiddich Spirit of Scotland Awards held in Edinburgh last week.

Professor Atkinson was nominated for the award along with another 3 contenders: Jonathan Guthrie (CEO of MGT Digital), Geoff Cook (Chief Executive, PPL Therapeutics) and Harry Stratford (Chief Executive, Strakan). Professor Atkinson was nominated for his role in the significant progress of Grid Research in the UK. In addition to Innovator of the Year, awards were given for a further six categories and Scotsman of the Year went to the Olympic Curling Team captained by Rhona Martin.

Further information can obtained at:


This is an archived website, preserved and hosted by the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Edinburgh. The School of Physics and Astronomy takes no responsibility for the content, accuracy or freshness of this website. Please email webmaster [at] ph [dot] ed [dot] ac [dot] uk for enquiries about this archive.